Review: Beware Of Darkness – ‘Orthodox’

By -
No Comments

I was given the chance to review a copy of an album by Beware of Darkness, a Los Angeles-based alternative rock band, before it went on sale in the UK on 27th May.

The band formed in 2010 in Santa Barbara, California. The name of this album, their debut, is ‘Orthodox’.

This rocking power-trio band is made up of guitarist and songwriter Kyle Nicolaides, drummer Tony Cupito and bassist Daniel Curcio. Their influences range widely but their main influences are The Beatles and Led Zeppelin.

The band are signed to Bright Antenna Records who’re based in Emeryville, America.

This year, the band will be supporting the Smashing Pumpkins in July in three venues in the UK, which are:

Manchester Academy – July 1st
Glasgow Academy – July 2nd
London, Wembley Arena – July 22nd

Their album tracks are split in to four different sections related to emotions, with three tracks in each and they are named, Ignorance, Loss, Depression and Enlightment.

The first track is called ‘Howl’. I really enjoyed this track as it’s very upbeat compared to the third track, ‘Ghost Town’, which is more classical-based compared to their alternative rock style.

The second track is a very rocky kind of track as it has mostly a guitar riff at the start of each verse and chorus which makes me want to keep listening. Another track that caught my attention was the eighth track, ‘End Of The World’, as the beat and the lyrics are more alternative rock other than indie rock.

The type of music I listen to is heavy metal, rock and pop and Beware of Darkness have very different influences compared to mine which are mainly Slipknot, Skindred, Black Veil Brides and Suicide Silence. However, I can still appreciate Beware of Darkness’ sound but it isn’t something I’d listen to regularly.

Overall, I would rate this album a 5 out of 10 as it doesn’t seem to be as strong and as diverse as it could be. I would recommend this band to fans of alternative rock but if this is your first time listening to this type of rock then this may not be your kind of listening material.

Below you can find the track list of the album:

1. Howl
2. Sweet Girl
3. Ghost Town
4. Amen Amen
5. All Who Remain
6. Heart Attack
7. Morning Tea
8. End Of The World
9. Life On Earth?
10. My Planet Is Dead
11. Salvation Is Here

Image: brightantenna

Related Article: Music Review: Little Boots – Nocturnes

Info Â» Sport & Leisure Â» Performing Arts Â» Music

InfoSport & LeisureInterests


All Articles