Ysgol Gyfun Cymer E3+ Awards 2012

By -
No Comments

On Wednesday, 19th December 2012, Wicid Sub Editor Rhys and I attended the Ysgol Gyfun Cymer Rhondda’s E3+ Awards Ceremony held at the school. The host for the evening was Cymer’s E3+ Co-ordinator Sarah Stone. Our roles for the evening were to attend and review the awards ceremony and also photograph all award winners on the stage.

Below you will see the script and all award winners and categories of the evening.


Sarah: Good evening and welcome to our first E3+ awards presentation evening, I would like to thank you all for coming, and it is a real pleasure to see so many faces here.

I and Gillian would like to say how rewarding it has been to work with so many students on the E3+ programme this year, and we have had the best time.
So with no further ado – let’s move on to presenting the students with the awards for their hard work and efforts to all of the after school clubs, holiday activities and residential weekends.

The first award was for Learning New Skills in E3+ Activities. The winners of this category are:

  Daniel Owen,
  David Street,
  Meredydd Phillips,
  Demi Williams,
  Payton Tudor,
  Nikitta Long,
  Bethany Edwards,
  Nathaniel Gillard,
  Ieuan Palmer, 
  Mitchel Loveridge.

Give a big clap for the winners!

The second award is for Excellent Contribution by Attending Regularly to After School Sessions, and Developing Confidence. The winners of this award are:

  Jac Stone,
  Joel Lewis,
  Alex Lawless,
  Tarion Morgan,
  Joshua Jones,
  Dylan Jones,
  Kian Williams,
  Seren Denning,
  Jesse Davies,
  Mercedes Stoddart,
  Mia Dayment Jones,
  Anna Gazzi,
  Caitlin Gerrons,
  Nikki Evans,
  Chloe Sherran.

Well done to those students!

The next award goes to pupils who have attended E3+, and have developed musical skills, art skills and media skills by taking part in various different after school clubs. The winners are:

  Kian Bibey,
  Lewis Gillard,
  Tyler Berry,
  Annaleise Nicholls,
  Tian Jones,
  Leone Williams,
  Macy Stone,
  Georgia Richards,
  Meganne Jones,
  Libby Cripps,
  Morgan Iles,
  Courtney Gerrons,
  Chelsea Sheppard,
  Cerian Edwards,
  Abigail Toolan.

It will now be my pleasure to call a group of young people to the stage, who have worked tirelessly volunteering themselves to help the E3+ staff during activities. The winners are:

  Talia Wynne,
  Keira Harris,
  Leah Preece,
  Kaisha Axford,
  Josh John,
 Lewis George.

Well done guys!

The next award goes to students who have gained qualifications from taking part in E3+ activities, and have taken part in a variety of different activities. Can I please warmly welcome the winners to the stage who are:

  Bronwen Lloyd,
  Leonie Morris,
  Courtney Morris,
  Joseph Kelland, 
  Keigan Long.

Congrats to you all!

This next award goes to a small group of young people, who not only attend E3+ and 5×60 activities here at Ysgol Gyfun y Cymer, but also attend E3+ activities at Porth County Community School. These efforts should be celebrated, so can I please call:

  Garyn Atkinson,
  Lewis Pearce,
  Max Hughes.

A job well done, boys!

I would now like to award the next group of students for making a difference to the young people in their community, by partaking in regular youth forum meetings and events, to voice their opinions to make their community better for young people. A big well done to:

  Dewi Rees,
  Dafydd Rees.
  Ben Coles.

This final award goes to a group of students who have taken part in residential study weekends to improve their GCSE grades, these residentials were funded by E3+, so thank you very much to the following students, for making a real difference:

  Nikki Bennett,
  Keely Hughes,
  Tyler Richards,
  Caitlin Davies,
  Lowri Hedges.

I will now pass you on to one of our sixth form students Lowri Thomas, who has made an excellent difference to the school life, by setting up her own after school dance club. Welcome Lowri.

Lowri: Hi there guys, I really would like to give a massive well done to these following students who I would like to come up on to the stage and collect their award, these students are:


Now these students have got a little dance performance for you, hope you enjoy and thanks for attending, have a safe journey home.


Congratulations to all award winners that evening and keep it up in the future. At the end of the ceremony the students of the dance award performed a routine of dance moves and wowed the audience. A massive well done goes to the girls for getting up there an busting some moves.

A special thanks must be given to the E3+ co-ordinator, Sarah Stone, for her work. We also extend our thanks to the parents who turned up to watch the awards for celebrating the young peoples’ success with us.

All family and friends were treated to a festive buffet at the end of the ceremony which was lovely.

Related Article: E3+ Has Landed In Blaengwawr

Info Education  In School 11-16

Info  Education  Post 16 Education

Info  Employment & Training  Apprenticeships and Training


All Articles